Going Old Fashioned in the Kitchen Vegetable Soup

Fresh off my success of making and freezing loads of vegetable stock I decided I’d love have a spicy vegetable soup to start the week. The only thing was that all my recipes listed vegetable broth as an ingredient. This didn’t make sense to me, vegetable broth is halfway to soup so why would I use my broth for this. Luckily I found someone else who completely agreed with me!

This recipe for loaded vegetable soup is perfect on so many levels. I love that her attitude is to add and saute ingredients as they’re chopped.

It was a great way to use fresh vegetables as well as to use up some of the frozen items I had. My ingredients were:

  • 2 onions
  • 1 leek
  • 4 carrots
  • 2 packages of frozen green beans
  • 1 package of frozen zucchini
  • 4 potatoes
  • 5 softened tomatoes, squished with skins on
  • Seasonings: granulated garlic, salt, a generous amount ground black pepper, and a hefty dose of Cajun seasoning

Once everything was in, I added 6 cups of water and left it to simmer for ~2 hours. Though I enjoyed it, I did find it a bit spicy for me. I may cut back the hefty dose to a generous amount of Cajun seasoning.

I’m really excited to have a soup recipe that is 100% from scratch! It’s not often I can say I know exactly what’s going into my food but with this one I can definitely do that.

 

Leave a comment