Groceries

This was the first weekend in ages I  didn’t go to the grocery store. The greatest reason for that was that I’m really trying to stick to my budget. It’s also the first time in forever that I was really willing to commit to items already in the house.

Saturday, I made bread. Sunday was a ham casserole that I added additional vegetables to and created a crumb topping. Today, most likely, I’ll make Lord Woolton Pie with mushroom gravy. This should see us through the week.

I’m looking ahead to next week and with the recent discovery of the sheer volume of vegetables and fruit Canadians were advised to eat I’m heading to Costco to see if I can get some variety while staying in my budget. While I adore potatoes, carrots, broccoli and mushrooms I am hoping that I’m able to extend my vegetable reach a bit more.

I’ve been rather stingy with my three apples so I’m hoping to find a good deal on fruit as well to add to my lunches.

With a budget of $50 but a goal of spending $30 I’m not quite sure if I’ll be able to get all the items on my list:

  • peanut butter
  • butter
  • fresh fruit
  • fresh vegetables
  • toilet paper

I may find myself going to the regular grocery store instead. I know that I’m definitely getting the peanut butter at Costco as no one can beat their price!

4 thoughts on “Groceries

  1. Pingback: Here’s a Wrinkle – Saving Without Scrimping

  2. Saray

    I’m not sure how close you are to other supermarkets but that’s really where you need to be shopping. At Costco a case of toilet paper ($16) and two jars of peanut butter ($10) leaves you $4 for fruits and vegetables. You need to gage your need to have the volume of product to just you and ML. A 12 pack of TP at a grocery store ($6), regular sized organic PB ($4), that leaves you with ($20) to spend on fruits and veggies. I was a chef and buyer, now I’m a stay at home mom. I run my house and purchases in the same manner. I have 3 boys, 2 large dogs and a husband. All of them are super active. So I need lots of food to keep everyone fueled up. BUT I still only buy very specific things at Costco, because I don’t want to leave my money on the shelf in disposable products.

    Like

    1. I think it depends on where you live. The regular sized PB in the supermarket is actually more expensive than the Costco sized PB in my neck of the woods. Based on those prices, I think I want to live where you are! My sales aren’t even that good.
      You’re right on being really specific about Costco as I find it totally depends on the items.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Menu Planning – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a comment