When Dreams meet Reality

I’ve been listening to the Hamilton soundtrack on repeat!  It’s filled with amazing beats, good advice and American History so there’s lots to love. There’s one lyric that makes me think of life after debt:

aaron burr

This has been our life this year! Getting out of debt was our brand new beginning. We were going to do lots:

  • Accelerate mortgage payments
  • update the house
  • get a new kitchen
  • save for a new car
  • build our emergency fund
  • go on a vacation

All of those are great goals but let’s be honest they’re not going to happen at the same time. Once we both got debt free we really had to face reality and figure out what it is we really wanted to do.

While most of our money is going towards the kitchen we are trying to work on the other points as well. This has ended up with me feeling as though I don’t have enough. I know it’s ridiculous so when I heard that line I finally had an explanation!

When I began this blog I thought it would take me 30 months to repay my own debt. I hadn’t even considered helping ML. In less than 2 years we were both consumer debt free. That’s an awesome achievement!  However,I hadn’t emotionally prepared myself for a realistic life after debt.

This year has been a year of learning how to set realistic goals again. It’s also realizing that I still choose not to have money for certain things. Maintaining my consumer debt free life and achieving my goals means that I still have to make choices.

I don’t think I had really anticipated that. Somehow in my dreams debt free meant that I could have my cake, eat it in one sitting and not have a tummy ache. Definitely a fantasy!

The reality is that maintaining a debt free life has been very similar to living with debt. This time instead of me paying the bank with interest, I’ve been paying myself and getting interest.

Which is a pretty awesome way to live. I’m grateful that I’ve been able to redistribute my debt payment so that I can fund my new start.

 

4 thoughts on “When Dreams meet Reality

  1. thedoffer

    I think that’s one of the benefits of life after debt is that the way of life is already instilled in you that your new start takes all of those positives and re-focuses towards your new goals. Great how quickly you paid your debt down! Do you have a main goal or are all of the above just in the direction you are headed?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! You’re so right! The Kitchen is the main goal. I’ve also started putting an extra bit away to make some lump sum additional payments to the mortgage.
      I’m hopeful I can at least get our driveway done this year. The rest need to be put on back burners or I’m going to feel like I’m not getting ahead with anything .

      Like

      1. thedoffer

        I think it is good to have a main goal, that way it’s like paying down one debt at a time, you can hit a goal, feel that achievement and then move on to the next. Keep going!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

