Taking dessert

I always take something when I’m invited to someone’s home. Usually it’s dessert. When looking at my pantry checklist I had completely forgotten that we were going to dinner at some friends.

I must confess to being very tempted to take $5 from the grocery budget and purchase a cake. I managed to pull myself together and make a s’mores cake.

smores-cake-recipe-pinkwhen-10

Mine looked similar to the one pictured above but we had cut into it before I remembered I had wanted to take a photo for you guys.

Here are my ingredients:

  • Butter  pecan cake mix (eggs, oil, water)
  • chocolate pudding mix for icing ( milk, powdered sugar, cool whip)
  • marshmallows
  • graham crackers

I baked the cake according to package directions.

While cake was baking, I mixed the chocolate pudding, 1 cup chocolate milk, 1/4 cup icing sugar and 8 oz of cool whip. I refrigerated the pudding icing until ready to use.

Once the cake was cooled I cut it in half to get two layers. On the bottom, I frosted it and sprinkled crushed graham crackers. I then put the other layer on top, frosted, covered in graham cracker crumbs and topped with mini marshmallows.

My only regret is I don’t have a kitchen torch to use on the marshmallows. If I had used a sturdier frosting, I would have broiled it but I was a bit nervous that the pudding frosting wiuld right off.

The cake was a hit and continued to allow me to use pantry items. I was really please to have a quick new recipe and maintain my challenge!

Photo from here

5 thoughts on “Taking dessert

Leave a Reply

