My absence

Post Concussion Syndrome Word Cloud Concept with great terms such as brain, injury, trauma and more.

I was in a minor accident this month and was concussed. In fact, I still have symptoms which has resulted in me not being online a whole lot. It’s been an awful and wonderful experience. Awful as I experienced some terrible medical care at the local leve and a concussion is an awful thing to have! Wonderful because my work place has been fantastic,my family has been great and my family doctor is an angel.

The recovery process is slow and excruciating to someone like me who loves to have projects on the go! I feel like a child who has been grounded. I’m typing the majority of this with my eyes closed as it’s eating into my concentration. granted, I shouldn’t be typing at all. I should be resting my brain.

I will,soon. I’ve missed blogging and I’ve missed chatting with all of you. So much has happened! I ‘ve had so many  “Aha” moments through this process that I’ve been wanting to document. This is partly to share but also because I use THE blog as a way to remind myself of my life lessons. I’m less likely to re-read the journal I’m currently keeping.

I’ll leave you with one meaningful piece of information I discovered: post – concussion care is a fairly good way to live my life. THough it really does upset me I’ learning that all the things I should be doing now are things I really need to incorporate once I’m healed:

  • meditating for at least ten minutes a day
  • limiting my screen time
  • having  less caffeine and sugar (I’m currently banned these treats)
  • Drinking loads of water ( I was doing well but really need to keep it up)
  • Giving myself breaks from my desk and from tasks
  • Easing my way through my day instead of treating each day like a race

I won’t be around much for the next few weeks. I’m trying to limit my online presence to ten minutes a day. My doctor is allowing me to return to work part time as I fear that I’ll go crazy if forced to stay home. She indicated that this will slow my recovery but balance is also neccessary so if a few hours at work helps me come home and rest then she’s allowing it.

I’m grateful for that.

I hope you’re having a great January and a less adventuous start to your year!

I look forward to being back with you properly soon and catching up!

16 thoughts on “My absence

  1. So sorry to hear about your traumatic brain injury. This will likely reduce your motivation to become a professional (American) football player. 🙂

    Many things on your list sound like words I’ve mentioned on 1 or 2 or 1000 occasions. Apparently, you just needed a little head trauma to see the words and their meaning more clearly. 😀

    Seriously, I wish you a speedy recovery and am so pleased to see you back (even if it is limited) on wordpress. Take good care of yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Isn’t it interesting how life works! I had thought I was doing fairly well with all those things I listed. Then this happened and I realized how far I still had to come. Apparently a bop in the head really does help make the meaning clear :).

      One of the cool things was I got a handout that listed tools to help working with a concussion. Things like notes and realistic goal setting. It was gratifying to recognize on that list almost all my current practices.

      Here’s to maintaining my new found rules!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lauralynne

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been dealing with a concussion. I know that the recovery from these injuries can take so much longer than anyone ever suspects. I wish you the best in your healing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am happy you are getting great advice from your family doctor and advice you can share with us on how to best go through our daily lives. Remember to follow the advice and not go too fast because you will have lots of times when you will feel pretty good and want to get ahead of the progress plan.
    You will have a lot to write about once your screen time is available. I look forward to hearing all about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Mo! I’m really struggling with the not going too fast.
      I don’t know how helpful my realizations will be 🙂 but finding the lessons have helped keep me sane (er)

      Looking forward to catching up soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

