Frugal Bounces

This is the beginning of a post I started last week:

It feels like everything fell a bit yesterday. I started the year with lofty personal goals regarding my health, work ethic and finances and yesterday was my first bump. I drove friends to the airport early in the morning.

It was going to be reasonable as I only had to wake up an hour ahead of  my usual schedule. My brain, however, decided to freak out at 3 a.m. and prevent sleep. I wasn’t going to let that get me down! I whipped up oatmeal for myself, took my time getting ready, packed my lunch for the day, and spent sometime with Bunny.

By 8 a.m. I was incredibly sore from the drive and tired. I made it through my work day, though I must admit to not being the perfect employee and dallying at tasks. Being tired also meant that I didn’t want to leave my desk. I’ve dropped my step goal to 5,000 in the winter and I just made 1,500 steps yesterday.

Though I tidied the house, I was too tired to do any cooking and was starving by the time I got home. Healthy eating and frugality went out the door as I ate cake while texting ML about McDonalds coupons I had. Yep, quarter pounder and cake for dinner.

 

 

If you follow my blog, you know that never got posted. Why?

Well it’s a bit of a downer and it’s not overly forgiving. This past weekend, I would go on to dig the spending whole a bit deeper by paying for breakfast for a friend and purchasing a gift certificate for a neighbour who I recently found out has been snow blowing my driveway and sidewalk often this winter.

Here’s what this doesn’t reflect: I spent half my usual money in the grocery and made 2 dishes for the week already. I’m currently house sitting for friends so ML & I are apart at the moment though we’re trying to catch a few hours every day. It’s like we’re dating all over again.

In fact, Sunday we did just that. We went to a local wedding show to gather quotes for our anniversary party next year and decided to treat ourselves as a newly engaged couple, minus the unknowns and the stresses. It was fun, fabulous and FREE!

I haven’t done my weekly budget as yet but I suspect that my McDonald’s & breakfast spending is going to come out in the wash. I’ll most likely dip into my  Gift Account to cover the gift card.

Frugality is a consistent choice and my brand of it involves forgiveness and spending on the things and people that matter to me.

3 thoughts on “Frugal Bounces

  1. lauralynne

    I think this kind of thing happens to everyone. But like you say — it’s more about how you move on from it rather than getting stuck in the tiny step backward. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Pantry Update – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

