Reflecting on 2016

I spent a bit of time reviewing my posts from this past year to remind myself of my plans in 2017. Boy do I have a lot of them! The really big ones that are impacting the way I craft my budget are:

So a lot of big things are on my horizon! Before delving into them I wanted to reflect on my 2016 goals and lessons. I created my first list in December 0f 2015 and then revisited them in May.Frankly, I set realistic goals for myself in 2016! I’m pleased to say that I did achieve them all: I paid off my debt, assisted ML & he’s now consumer debt free,  began my home renovation fund, and began putting more money into my emergency fund.

I also began making huge strides in being better to the environment and embracing more minimalist values. Can you believe it’s been a year since I did the me version of Project 333 ? And I’ve kept it up…well in a me way. Each month I go through all my clothes and select a month’s worth of clothing. I then pack away any clothing that didn’t make the cut or donate things that no longer suit me.

How was 2016 for you?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2016

  1. I will make a list for 2017 and check in again in May and December. How to score my progress is a question for you? Is every item equally important on the budget list or is it progress on bottom line?

    Like

    1. I had to think of this one! Every goal sort of stands alone and I aimed to make them fairly complete.
      In May, my success will be based on having been vacation debt free and starring that mortgage fund, it will also be time to start thinking of the house.
      Does that answer your question? For me progress can be slippery so I aim to ensure I’m not adding pressure to my world.

      Like

    2. Oh gosh! The post that answers this is scheduled for today because I worked on it last night 🙂 in my first comment I thought you were responding to that post. Water is needed to get my brain clicking

      Like

  2. Based on your dedication and persistence, I was certain you would achieve these wonderful goals. It comes as no surprise to me based on my confidence in you! Consider adding the word “BALANCE” to your 2017 goals. This one word brings so many aspects of life into a clearer vision, the benefits often exceed expectations. Wishing you and your family all the best in 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your faith and continued support! Balance is definitely key and in the 2017 goals I really played to ensure I was finding it.
      The last thing I want to do is set myself unrealistic goals to start the year.
      I’ve been really proud to have you as the angel on my shoulder during this season of excess. As a result, I haven’t gotten I’ll this Christmas and my weight has remained stable.
      I’ve indulged in everything without over doing it and I’m so thankful to you for being that light.

      Happy new year!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds like moderation and BALANCE suits your NEW lifestyle. I’ll bet your “typical” days of sickness will dramatically be affected as you continue to develop REALISTIC healthy lifestyle choices. I hope your words reach thousands of people to show the power of HEALTHY LIVING. Keep up the good work! Here’s to a wonderful New Year!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

