2017: Year of the House

As of January 1, 2017 we will be consumer debt free. As I mentioned the money I currently put towards debt repayment will then move to the kitchen renovation fund.

ML has expressed a desire to paint our kitchen in the short term, this would give the room a lift and help us feel a bit better about it. I’m on board as I recognize that this is important to him.

We have no intention of selling the house so why make 2017 the year of the House? Well, this is where we spend most of our time and frankly it’s our biggest purchase. We need to be better at maintenance.

It’s the little things like:

  • Fixing the sinking driveway
  • Adjusting the backyard
  • Painting/ fixing worn baseboards
  • Putting up light fixtures that work and aren’t dated

That can elevate our home. Writing that list I feel like we must live in a dump! I promise we don’t. The house was given bare minimum maintenance when we moved in and to be honest we weren’t much better.

We used the, “We’re not handy people” line and a fear of not being able to afford proper help as excuses for lack of action. My plan is that this stops now. We’re not handy people and frankly I’d rather pay someone to come and fix something than experiment. This comes from my fear that we’ll spend more if we mess up.

Knowing this about myself I then need to gather quotes and make informed decisions. 2017 is going to be the year that I do this.

8 thoughts on “2017: Year of the House

  1. Ms. Steward

    I think 2017 is also going to be the year of the house for us, not as much in the renovation sense, but in the organizing and purging sense. I want home to be a refuge, not another chore!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Reflecting on 2016 – Saving Without Scrimping

  3. Pingback: Coming Soon(ish): New Kitchen – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

