Grocery Budget

I’ve blogged here about the fact that eating healthy doesn’t necessarily take more out of my grocery budget than eating convenience foods. However, when I went to do my budget this month I gave my grocery line some extra padding.

I mean clearly eating no meat is going to cost more as it’ll be harder to get all necessary ingredients on sale. That turned out to be a mistake, a great one.

I turned my usual process around by selecting recipes,  then checking my pantry, and finally the flyers.

I ended up getting this for about half my grocery budget:

img_20161105_124928

They’re the necessary ingredients for:

I’m pleased with our planning and think we’re off to a fine start.

My zero waste goal, however, isn’t doing as well. Unfortunately most of the items are packaged in plastic. I’m going to keep working away at both of these and see where my grocery life ends up at the end of the month.

Do you have frugal pescatarian recipes you’re willing to share?

5 thoughts on “Grocery Budget

  1. Lentils are a great source of protein and are super light on the wallet. I try to grocey shop once a week to avoid waste in the home. One of my biggest pet peeves is wasting food. I get so mad when I have to throw something out because it has gone bad. Great job on slashing your grocery spending in half. Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m with you, food waste is a huge pet peeve of mine. We do the weekly shop as well and try to be really careful about buying fruit and veg that we know we’ll consume quickly

      Like

  2. eathealthyonanybudget

    Throwing food away is something I really hate to do. I find that planning my meals in advance means I can be more successful at only buying what I need. I also try to use up any fruit and vegetables that would otherwise go in the trash by making soups or chilli – it’s quick, easy and they freeze really well if you don’t want to eat them right away.

    Fruits and vegetables in plastic packaging is a problem I haven’t been able to solve – I don’t know why zucchini and squash come on a polystyrene tray wrapped in film but all the stores seem to do the same thing. Whole Foods doesn’t, but they are kind of pricey. :-/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

