What’s the point?

Do you have days that you deny yourself little things and wonder if it was worth it?

Right now I’m walking to collect my car rather than taking a cab home as I don’t want to put out the cab fare. The cab takes credit while the bus only takes cash and I’m $0.50 short.

As I’ve worked a long day I’m trying to tell myself that the excercise  I’m getting helps offset the fast food lunch I had.

Though i was good and cooked this weekend, I can’t eat any of the soup. It’s way too spicy for me! Yesterday, when i discovered this, I ended up buying lunch. Then today, when work went long I bought dinner. Two expenses I hadn’t budgeted in from both a financial and health perspective.

So now I walk. To be fair the cost of the cab would probably equal the cost of those two meals and the exercise I’m getting will help offset the garbage I’ve ingested.

While it’s late and I’m a bit cranky that I’ve put myself in this position, the point is balance.

I opted to spend money on junk and in choosing to stick to a budget I’m giving myself real world consequences.

7 thoughts on “What’s the point?

  1. I do this all the time! I try and be smart with time and money and put myself into these situations where I feel grumpy and tired, and try and justify how it offsets previous actions. I really don’t know if it’s worth it eh??? While you’re experiencing it, it’s uncomfortable and you’d prefer to “treat” yourself to convenience. But on the other hand, when you’re budget is negative later in the week, you might kick yourself thinking “I should have just saved that cab fare and walked”. I have been more okay with these real life consequences because of my year off and knowing I’ve got the luxury of time, but I think if this was happening during my stressful year, I would have preferred to pay for the convenience. Perhaps it comes down to knowing yourself well and where your mental health currently stands, whether you need a break or not?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Garbage Day – Saving Without Scrimping

  3. I have been feeling like this so much lately! Just wondering if the constant (sometimes exhausting!) watching of money is really worth it… But my brain knows it is. And my heart really wants the things we’re working towards. So I’m puting it down to a phase and focusing on just putting one foot in front of the other until the feeling passes πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

