What Matters to Me II

Our beach day was a huge success!  We got to lounge on the beach, go for a swim and play with our picnic set. We even got to talk about the budget and complete the value exercise!

One of the exercises was to create a detailed description of what success will look like in five years. It got pretty detailed. Out of it came a few realizations:

I want to embrace my creativity 

I suppose I’d like to be a bit of a renaissance woman. I enjoy learning and applying new skills in all aspects of my life and I want to keep that up. Embracing a creative outlook will help me continue to be open minded and imaginative. This perfectly highlights how I see creativity:

Creativity is inventing, experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes and having fun. Quote by Mary Lou Cook

 

I want to be adventurous and do interesting things

This really ties into the creative piece but I wanted to pull it out as I find I need the reminder that I should be exploring more of my world. Adventure is such a big word but for me it encompasses saying yes to more.  Some concrete ways I can pursue this are by attending community events, purposely traveling more (currently aiming for a big trip every other year), and trying new activities.

Make our home an oasis 

I truly believe that home is where the heart is so this is pretty big. This encompasses both the physical and emotional pieces. I want us to maintain and improve upon our home without going into debt.I want home to be the place that we want to go to, that we crave when we need to relax.  We’re usually pretty good at not letting people who bring us down into our home. This is definitely a trend we plan to continue.

Emotionally, ML is my home. I want to ensure ML and I are spending meaningful time together and we’re building each other up.

Honouring Myself

A big part of feeling successful is feeling good about myself and treating myself well. This includes:

  • Eating well
  • Continueing to explore minimalism and wasting lest
  • Incorporating movement and exercise into my day
  • Establishing clear boundaries so I don’t feel taken advantage of or find myself in passive aggressive relationships
  • Continue training myself out of distorted thinking

Looking at this list it’s a continuation of my original post  and a great summary of all the lists I had crafted over the past year.

 Creativity quote from here.

7 thoughts on “What Matters to Me II

  1. Pingback: Blogging Helps – Saving Without Scrimping

  2. Pingback: Birthdays, boundaries and other things – Saving Without Scrimping

  3. Pingback: Furnishing – Saving Without Scrimping

  4. Pingback: Zero Waste-ish – Saving Without Scrimping

  5. Pingback: Dreaming – Saving Without Scrimping

  6. Pingback: Word of 2017: Stretch – Saving Without Scrimping

  7. Pingback: 2017 Goal Setting – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

