Achieving Goals 

I’m going to really show my age here and quote Dawson’s Creek:

recite-2gy0tu

The first time I saw this episode teenage me thought this was the most ridiculous excuse ever for making a bad decision. Your life was too good? Good grief!

As I’ve grown, the reason now  sounds selfish and reeks of an unwillingness to explore ways to continue to grow in existing relationships, however, I understand it. When I achieve my goals I’m often caught unawares. Like this character, I want to have something to strive for.

Though I’m still working on the what matters to me and my financial goals lists, the tasks are now rote:

  • I want to spend quality time with those I love doing interesting things.
    • This has become part of my normal. We host at least once a month and work on making plans with people to do fun activities.
  • I want to be good to my environment.
    • I’m much better than I was when I started blogging. I’ve given up paper towel, have learned how to use leftovers and my freezer, and have significantly cut down on my waste.
  • I want to be able to purchase new or upgraded items when something gets damaged without having to worry about using a credit card.
    • Yeah baby! My savings lines are in line with my lifestyle so I’ve been able to accomplish this
  • I want to improve my home. Not for re-sale but for me.
    • This was important because I was focusing on how to increase the re-sale value rather than our needs. As we’ve decided to not plan to move unless we have a significant job change I’ve been able to really look at improving the home for us to live in by decorating well and really taking care of it.
  • Financial Goals
    • I’ve included them in my budget so they function as automatic payment to the appropriate savings lines.

This isn’t to say that these aren’t good goals. They’re just not resonating with me in the same way as I’ve integrated them so well with my life. This makes it difficult to get excited about them.

I’m incredibly fortunate that I’ve managed to achieve the life I envisioned for myself 1 year ago. My reality is hard won and I’m not willing to sacrifice it by taking any steps back. The lovely thing about life is there are always new things to try. You may have noticed that recently I’ve had a few posts on goals  that I’d like to achieve (retirement, health to name a few).

Over the next few posts I’ll be revisiting the exercises I completed when creating my first list in the hope of creating a cohesive list to help me guide my decisions. My aim is to have an updated What matters to me list by my one year blogging anniversary on July 21st. 

Does this happen to you?

 

7 thoughts on “Achieving Goals 

  1. I think this is normal. We’re geared to achieve from the time we’re young and feel anxious when we are not planning and working toward something. Not that its a bad thing, goals give us motivation. But it is also ok to take some time and be unstructured for awhile, actually this is a hard practice sometimes. It sounds like you are really taking this to a higher level, and good for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Karen!
      I’m so goal oriented that it’s reassuring to hear that though we are geared this way it’s alright to take a break and just be for a bit.
      It’s a lesson I really need to learn🙂.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: What Matters Update: what Deadline? – Saving Without Scrimping

  3. Pingback: Revisiting My Lists – Saving Without Scrimping

  4. I’m totally going through this right now! I had the hiatus and totally got ruthless about goals that weren’t working and refined goals I was keeping. And now… they still don’t resonate with me! Because I do most of them as they are so engrained my lifestyle I don’t need a goal to remind me, or they are so long term or don’t have real deadlines that my progress doesn’t really matter. Now with my recent discussions on joy, I’m wondering if that is my new goal. I need to think through what new and exciting relevant goals are for me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love your recent posts on joy and showing how you ask that question. I suspect we’ve grown so much in the last year that the tools we used to get here need to be switched for new ones. I had loved that you used the hiatus to refine the goals to better suit the life you are leading than the one you thought you should be.
      It’s exciting to see how others reflect on their journey as well as continue to grow.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: On Goals | 365 Days of Carpe Diem

Leave a Reply

