Let’s walk

Public Footpath sign

I’m on a constant path to maintaining my health. Two years ago this meant participating in local 5k runs, last year it was meeting up with girlfriends to walk trails or making use of my elliptical glider, this year it began with morning workouts.

As you may have guessed nothing sticks for long. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. The bad thing is if I stop exploring ways to be active, like I recently did. I stopped because I was busy, exhausted and frankly working out wasn’t a priority.

Then I had the crazy week. THe minimum I walked was 13,000 steps and I topped out at 18,000. That’s when I realized that aiming for 10,000 steps per day wasn’t an  insane idea. So for the past two weeks that’s exactly what I’ve done. Some days I surpass it and others I don’t even come close. I’ve found that making it part of my life e.g. walking to the corner store has helped me more than thinking I’ll walk when I get home. Attaching chores or events to my goal has helped me in the days I do achieve it. 

Now to re-introduce some weight training and I’m set!

What do you do to feel healthy?

 

Photo courtesy of Simon Howden via freedigitalphoto.net

6 thoughts on “Let’s walk

  1. Keep it moving! I walk with my dog every day, and when I’m working, I can get between 12 and 15,000 steps. Now that it’s summer time and I’m not chasing kids, I need a plan. I still walk my dog, but a friend of mine invited me to walk this crazy trail near my job three times per week. I have no excuses. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 10,000 steps a day? That’s a great goal! I’ve been using my bike a ton more this summer. Riding to work, running errands, joy rides…not sure how many miles I’ve put on, but I know I’ve saved a ton in gas money and I feel much better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

