Going Old Fashioned in the Kitchen: Peach Iced Tea

ML has been wanting peach iced tea for a couple of weeks. I’m not a fan of iced tea but decided to keep an eye open for some when I was shopping. I didn’t see any but began to wonder how difficult it would be to make.

It turns out it’s not hard at all! It’s a combination of steeped tea and simple syrup. So when I saw that peaches were on sale this week I decided to surprise him.

Part 1: Peach Simple Syrup

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 peaches, thinly sliced

Method:

  • Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil
  • Once boiled, simmer  until all sugar is dissolved. Stir constantly and use your spoon to press the peaches against the pan
  • Once the sugar is dissolved, remove the pan from heat and keep it covered for about 30 minutes.
  • Once ready to use strain the syrup into a jar.
  • Store in the fridge

Part 2: Tea

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of water
  • 3 teabags, I used Orange Pekoe

Method

  • Bring the water to a boil.
  • Put your teabags into a large teapot or heat safe container and pour the boiled water over the bags.
  • Steep for 5 minutes then remove the teabags.
  • Allow this to cool and then pour into a separate container.
  • Store in the fridge.
  • Note: the four cups is because the jar I used only holds four cups.
IMG_20160522_204505
My jars of tea and peach simple syrup

Part 3: Putting it together

The ratio we seem to like is one cup of tea to one tablespoon of syrup. I generally am not a fan of iced tea but I’m quite enjoying this!

Quick note on the storage:

I have kept my syrup and tea apart for a few reasons.

  1. The mixture will spoil more quickly
  2. This way we can adjust the ratio to suit our tastes
  3. Since my 1 cup of syrup is 16 tablespoons we  can have 16 cups of peaches iced tea. That’s 3.78 litres  of iced tea!

Do you have any iced tea tips?

7 thoughts on “Going Old Fashioned in the Kitchen: Peach Iced Tea

  1. Not an iced tea drinker myself. I could definitely see where people would enjoy this recipe. Just make certain it is consumed IN ADDITION to water, not in place of it. Tea is a natural diuretic. As the weather heats up dehydration is a common concern. A little tea for flavor and enjoyment should be incorporated into a nutrition plan if one enjoys this beverage.
    A+ on effort for figuring how to make it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the compliment and the reminder :).
      That was my other reason for not mixing it all in. It’s one of the ways ‘laziness’ helps me. Pouring a glass of water is easier than mixing up a glass of the tea. This means that when ML or I are thirsty our first instinct is to go with the easy option 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

