My Grocery List

Yesterday at lunch I began prepping my grocery list. Usually we’re alright if we play with our numbers a bit but this week I’m determined to not go over my budget. It took some doing but, using Reebee, I was able to compare and figure out the best deals for us.

Eggs  $       2.78
Yogurt  $       2.00
1 lb Peaches  $       4.00
5 Kiwi  $       3.00
Craisins  $       5.00
Strawberries  $       1.47
2 packages of Rice cakes  $       6.00
4 lbs Ground Chicken  $    10.00
3 Tinned Beans  $       2.37
Bathroom Tissue  $       5.99
 $    42.61

Based on the list and our current pantry the menu stands as:

  • Spaghetti with sauce and mushrooms
  • Rice, ground chicken, green beans
  • Quiche: eggs, sweet pepper and olives
  • Curried cauliflower soup: plan is to use milk rather than cream and add potatoes
  • Snacks: Yogurt,strawberries,kiwi,rice cakes, craisins and bananas

ML has bee wanting peach iced tea so I found a recipe that I’m going to try. We generally aim to keep our spending at $50/week at the grocery. Though as we’re both being more active we may have to increase this. I’m alright with an increase as long as we’re not spending on things we might waste or junk food. This week I’m feeling pretty good about our list.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Grocery List

  1. I like the way you budget without sacrificing the quality of foods purchased. Goes to show that people can eat healthier foods within reasonable budgets. Keeping the junk food out of the house is a health savings as well as a budgetary savings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s going to be my first time making it so I’ll definitely share if it works. We had been in a chip craze for a bit so I’m trying to make sure we have loads of snack options to keep us from temptation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

