I Scream for Ice Cream!

We have a friend who is lactose free that we saw this past weekend. It’s been lovely outside and I was craving ice cream so I  found a dairy free version that I fell in love with.

I did make a few adjustments to it to better suit my pantry.

Ingredients:

  • 3 very ripe bananas sliced and thrown in a container in the freezer
  • 3 tangerines, peeled and pegged, and thrown in a separate container in the freezer (this was done so I’d have two containers as I knew I would be separating the ‘ice cream’)
  • 1 tin of coconut milk in the fridge

Method:

  • Go do anything else for a few hours as the fruit freezes. I indulged in a Supernatural marathon while knitting a baby blanket.
  • Remove the containers from the freezer and carefully remove the tin from the fridge
  • Place the fruit in a food processor
  • Open the tin, you should notice that the coconut milk looks like cream
  • Spoon the cream into the food processor; you’ll see a watery bit reserve that
  • Process on high until you have soft serve consistency
  • Enjoy! or you know put it back in the freezer and share with others

Note: if you’d like to use the entire tin and not reserve the lighter bit make sure you shake the can when you remove it from the fridge.

Extra tip:

I opted to turn the excess into morning smoothies. I simply:

  • take the frozen bit down to thaw when I wake up
  • Scoop some into my food processor and add some of the coconut liquid
  • Process until I have milkshake consistency

I have no idea how healthy it really is as tinned coconut milk isn’t exactly a low fat option but it tastes like a tropical vacation and gives me a bit of a fruit serving first thing in the morning.

Total cost: less than $3

 

 

7 thoughts on “I Scream for Ice Cream!

Leave a Reply

