2 Tomatoes

They sat on my counter looking very forlorn, the rest of the batch had been used in salsas, sandwiches and salads. But these two had been neglected when I got sick and ML cooked something else.

They were at that soft stage that I knew they wouldn’t taste right in most things and I didn’t have a lot of energy. So I decided to make a Trini dish : tomato choka.

Now to be fair this is my version of it. The true version uses fresh ingredients but based on my situation at the time I used what I had.

Ingredients

  • 2 Tomatoes
  • Dehydrated onions
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  • Olive oil

Method

  • Roast the tomatoes in your oven
  • Once the skins begin to roast remove them from the oven
  • Once slightly cooled remove the skins
  • Mash the tomatoes to a pulp
  • On the stove, heat a bit of olive oil and add the seasonings to taste
  • Mix in the crushed tomato
  • It will look like a salsa

In this instance I had it as a side with rice and chicken.

What do you do with sad tomatoes?

10 thoughts on “2 Tomatoes

  1. GeorgieMoon

    Just my sort of thing! I might add a pinch of chilli powder to the mix. I chop up sad tomatoes and put them in a casserole or stew, or in home made soup.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like tomatoes and never buy them. I grew up eating them in salads. As an adult, I never eat salad at my house and I only eat out up to 1X/week. I prefer mixed berries, apples and bananas as my staple fruits. I eat 6-9 servings of all different types of vegetables each day. I have never liked vegetables, but they pack so much in the way of important nutrition, it’s worth it.

    Your dish sounded quite nice. Creativity certainly beats throwing food (and money) down the disposer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I tend to hide my veggies from myself i.e. mix them into the meal rather than have them as a side. This way I find I’m more likely to eat them. Gone are the days of picking carrots out of my rice :).
      I love them highly seasoned which is why I enjoy a lot of Indian food.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Keep munching on those nutrient dense veggies and reap the benefits. (Also leaves over a lot of {calorie room} for an occasional ice cream sundae! 🙂 ) Yes, I said it AND DO IT! Remember, it’s not about perfection; it’s about BALANCE. Hope your hump day is going well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

