Another cold!

I feel as though I’m constantly ill with a cold. This week was awful because we’re heading into our busy time at work where taking a day off can set me back quite a bit. In spite of this reality I’m also telling myself that I’m replaceable at work but not at home.

Therefore I worked a few half days and took today off to heal. Since next week is even busier I’m throwing everything I have at this cold. I even called my mum to ask for the hated tea she used to give us. It was a bitter concotion made of dried orange peels.

She laughed and said she has a much tastier recipe now. So along with cold medication, applying Vicks to my neck, chest and feet I’m sipping cups of this tea.

Orange Ginger Tea

  • 1 orange, scrubbed and cut in half
  • 1 inch of Ginger, peeled and sliced
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • Some whole cloves (5-6 is good)
  • 2 cups of water

Method

  • You’re going to need a small pot to put everything in
  • Mash the Ginger in it
  • Juice the orange into it and put in the fruit as well
  • Add all other ingredients
  • Bring to a boil and then lower to a simmer for about 10 minutes
  • Strain and serve hot

I find it quite sweet so I don’t add any sugar to it. It’s also based on what’s available, according to my mum the big ingredients are the ginger and orange.

Do you have any recipes that help you feel better when sick?

8 thoughts on “Another cold!

  1. The natural state of the body is one of health; not disease. When a person complains about recurring illness there is an underlying weakness in immune function that is being overlooked. I would encourage you to take a look at the link I’ve attached. It might give you an idea how to approach your concern about your ongoing illness in a more productive manner. Hope you feel better!
    https://allabouthealthychoices.wordpress.com/2016/01/20/the-doctor-within/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I remember reading and identifying with that post. I suspect that a build up stress is responsible for this feeling. I need to find ways to feed my body and my spirit good things consistently.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, the bitter dried orange peel drink is my mum’s concoction too! I’m surprised your mum changed recipes. The orange peel is a staple TCM ingredient, although it is actually used specifically for phlegm rather than general colds. Good on you for deciding to take time off to look after yourself despite it being the busy period. I try to boost my immune system during sickness with lots of hot lemon honey drink and taking olive leaf extract or propolis.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the change has to do with the move. Back home oranges were a staple of our diet and local. Here they’re imported and can get expensive.
      The orange peel tea I remember was dried orange peel and cinnamon. I wonder is there a difference in benefits from the dried peel vs the fresh. As this recipe is all fresh peel.

      Hot lemon honey drinks sound great! The congestion part is gone at the moment but I’ve got the sore throat remaining.

      Like

      1. Yup, there is a difference in dried vs fresh, it has to be right type of oranges and the peels dried for an amount of time etc and it makes it more potent for decongestion.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

