Thank Goodness for Savings

Yesterday I spent 3 hours in the car and was doing highway driving. I was a bit concerned that every time I started to slow on the highway the steering column began to shake.

I am due for an oil change so instead of waiting to the weekend I called my mechanic and he took a look at it. My $30 oil change is now a $730 oil change and brake job.

Even with my over saving for the early March stuff I didn’t have that money in my car fund. On top of that I just emptied my “Life Happens” account to help ML buy a new computer.

To make up the difference I dipped into a savings line I have in the event that I owe taxes.

I haven’t had to dip this deeply into savings for a while and I was a bit scared that seeing 2 savings lines be at $0,plus dipping into 2 more, would make me feel awful. Instead, I feel powerful!

I had enough money between all my accounts to cover the big cost of the car and loan ML money for a new gaming computer. A year ago this may have set me back and at the end of the day I wouldn’t have known if the savings, LOC, or both had paid for these.

I may be a bit over budget this month but I can guarantee that it would be from not saying no to myself rather than unexpected costs.

Bonus: not being able to drive took choice away so it’s been a couch surfing, Karaoke with Bunny, cuddles with ML kind of day.

10 thoughts on “Thank Goodness for Savings

  1. oh, wow, major, major expense! Good for you for being smart enough to have saved the money so you didn’t have to whip out the plastic. I had one of those major car repairs last year and, unfortunately, had to charge it. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so familiar with that! I’m so glad that I had savings available. I’m fairly certain I over budgeted for taxes so I think all will be well.
      I’ve had a chat with the car and explained she needs to keep it together for at least another 3 months, until the savings are back up πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

