Easy Enchilada

I used this recipe from the Food Network to make my Chimichangas. After some research it appears that these are actually enchiladas as they weren’t deep fried. If there is no price beside the ingredient it means that I already had it in my kitchen. I tend to adjust recipes to suit my needs so here goes.

Ingredients:

  • Vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic chopped
  • 1 jalapeno peppers, diced and de-seeded ($2.99 for 6)
  • 1.5 teaspoons chili powder
  • .5 teaspoon ground cumin
  • .25 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 small tomato
  • 2.5 cups shredded rotisserie chicken ($7.50 for chicken )
  • 1/4 c sour cream ($1.29 for 3/4 C )
  • 1 can re fried beans
  • 6 small whole wheat tortillas ($1.99 for 10)
  • .5 can enchilada sauce ($2.49)
  • shredded cheese ($5.99 for a brick)

Method:

  • Heat oil.
  • Saute onion, garlic and pepper until soft.
  • Add seasonings and toast for about 1 minute.
  • Stir in tomato (when I did this again I had run out of tomato so I threw in half a sweet pepper with the onion)
  • Add chicken and sour cream until warmed through.
  • Brush a baking sheet with oil.
  • Spread 2 tbsp refried bean on the centre of each tortilla (leaving a border at each end), top with chicken mixture and shred some cheese over top of that bad boy. If you’re feeling lazy like I was the next day just place a slice of cheese on top of the beans.
  • Place seam side down on your oiled up sheet and brush with a bit more oil. Bake at 450 for 8-10 minutes per side. Make sure to brush with oil when you flip it.

I couldn’t find chilis and ML isn’t a huge cilantro fan so I purchased the can of enchilada sauce. I wish I hadn’t and had just made a simple guacamole as I had also purchased 4 avocados for $1.25 at that trip.

Financial Breakdown:

I’ve got a pet peeve when people tell me I could make this meal for under $10 but if I had to purchase all the ingredients it would cost me $30 so I’ll give you both breakdowns. The ingredients for this meal took up $22.25 of my grocery budget but based on the portions used I spent $10.36 for this meal.

The restaurant that we had intended to purchase from had the deep fried flour tortilla filled with rice and chicken with guacamole garnish served with rice, lettuce and re-fried beans for $14. So I’m feeling pretty good about this and I now have an easy recipe to use when we’re near the end of roast chicken and  I want to do something simple.

IMG_20160214_190537

 

Though I have a few ides for some of the remaining ingredients does anyone have tips to use the enchilada sauce?

 

7 thoughts on “Easy Enchilada

  1. Pingback: Happy Valentines Day – Saving Without Scrimping

  2. man, this recipe and photo made my mouth water (seriously)… it made me remember the ones we used to buy from a little store in a lovely city. they used to have rice in it if I am not wrong,which somehow did not agree with me, but it was nevertheless so delicious. I seriously am so craving for one right now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! My work here is done 😉
      I think to truly be chimichangas they are supposed to have rice and be deep fried. I’ve been eating them all weekend and I’m sad to have finished the last of if today. Thankfully I have a quiche to look forward to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

