Preparing for Lent

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday which marks the beginning of Lent for the Church. I’m drawn to this season of introspection that encourages believers to face their temptations and battle them. I had a priest say to me once that we shouldn’t just give something up for lent. This was a season to slowly make our lives better. Hence, we should be more inclusive and try to maintain that inclusion throughout our year. His example was that we can give up judging others. At the end of the 40 days we won’t hop back up on the judgement wagon!

I love the idea of taking time after the rush of new year’s resolutions to look at ways in which we can make the world a better place. My journey so far has been to face the temptation of spending money and  I’m on board with keeping this up! But this year I’ve been trying to figure out how to do more than pay lip service to my desire to be good to my environment. I’ve played with the idea of eating less meat as I have no desire to encourage the mistreatment of a fellow being.  For these forty days I will be eating less meat and attempting to only consume from animals that have been humanely raised.

Keeping in mind the priest’s example I’m going to be kinder to myself. Too often I relive conversations or experiences and cringe at my response. I wonder if I  was too much, I apologize for things that I shouldn’t, and I allow other’s who judge me far greater sway than I should. This isn’t an excuse not to improve. It is an understanding that each interaction is a lesson. Rather than my current habit of using it to help me not sleep I will learn from it and move on!

Be good to yourself.png

Do you have any Lenten traditions? What habits can you practice to make your life or world better?

Image from here.

 

4 thoughts on “Preparing for Lent

  1. I like the idea of committing to improving something. When we were kids it was all about giving up candy, etc. Although i’ve left the church, i think making a commitment for 40 days really makes a difference in how we perceive ourselves – we can make empowering changes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We had done that too!
      I’m enjoying re-discovering these traditions with a more secular mindset. Sadly, I’m finding I’m getting more out of it ‘spiritually’ than when I was tackling it from a religious standpoint.

      You’re so right when you say 40 days can make a difference in our we perceive ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Time for some Tough Talk – Saving Without Scrimping

  3. Pingback: Justification vs. Rationalization – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

