Salsa

When I realized that our weekly grocery budget may go over I crossed salsa off the list because I knew we had tinned tomatoes. With the ingredients on hand I made this jar of goodness. I also filled a glass coffee jar as well but since all that’s already gone this is the only picture to share.

IMG_20160118_175610.jpg

What I had on hand:

  • 28 oz of tinned whole tomatoes
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp pepper sauce
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Here’s what I did:

  • Drain the juice from the can into the food processor, squeeze the tomatoes a bit so excess liquid goes into the food processor
  • put all ingredients except the tomatoes into the food processor and blend
  • Add the tomatoes and blend for a breath (10 seconds or so)
  • Pour into your glass jars (~ 3 cups)

Notes:

  • I found this to be fairly liquid rather than the chunky way I prefer my salsa. It was a great addition to the chili and will be going into the meatloaf. I’ll also be adding it to my scrambled eggs in the morning.
  • The tin of tomatoes is my  most expensive ingredient as I used the whole thing at $1.25
3 thoughts on “Salsa

  1. Pingback: Cheap Eats: Meatloaf – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

