Cheap Eats: Meatloaf

I didn’t grow up with meatloaf, it’s frankly a bit of a strange dish to my mind. So I can’t put this one under my Going Old Fashioned in the Kitchen series but ML is right about meatloaf! It’s a cheap, tasty meal.

I ended up using 3 recipes and items in my pantry to create this:

  • 2lbs ground chicken
  • 1 can mixed vegetables
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup salsa

Mix all ingredients well and empty into an oiled loaf pan or cupcake tin. Cook at 350 for 30-45 minutes.

I got one loaf and 4 mini cakes from this.

IMG_20160119_221329.jpg

Notes:

  • I would add a full cup of salsa next time.
  • When we thought of making this recipe we didn’t research more so I did end up purchasing ingredients I didn’t need e.g. saltines and cheese. I wish I had looked a bit harder at this because I could have saved about $10. Not the end of the world as cheese and saltines are good to have in the house.

P.S. I accidentally posted this before the salsa recipe which is coming tomorrow.

 

2 thoughts on “Cheap Eats: Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

