Spending Freeze…Maybe Not

I’ve played with the idea of a spending freeze before but found that it wasn’t for me. I am still drawn to the idea though so when Kelsey over at Warm House and Heart brought up the idea of a no spend week I was intrigued.

I like the idea of taking a week off spending. I currently count the number of days that I don’t spend in a month but it’s been a bit of a surprise that I don’t seem to be able to go more than a few days without spending money. At first I was gung-ho about the idea for next week. I had it all worked out:

  • Girls night in – I have apps, martini ingredients and pop at home. I don’t need to go over board on this
  • Lunch with a friend – I’ll ask to brown bag it
  • Dentist – as bills are allowed on this freeze I think I’m fine
  • Music Lesson – payment due; see above

Then I saw this:

  • Game night – I promised my friend a double date at the new cafe

Immediately I knew that I couldn’t cancel on my friend for the sake of an experiment. So instead of a spending freeze here’s what I’m going to do: I’m going to make a conscious effort to buy less. Though i track my buy nothing days is in my monthly debrief, I haven’t been putting a lot of effort into increasing this number. My biggest culprit is groceries. Since I live 5 minutes from a grocery store it’s easy for me to pop out and pick up sandwich fixings if I’m in the mood for it and it’s in the budget.

In the past few months I’ve ranged from 9-16 buy nothing days I’d like to see that number be around 15 days. It doesn’t need to be all in a row but I’m hoping that by making a conscious effort to purchase less I’ll be focus on one of the things that matter to me that I’ve been neglecting: being good to my environment.

For a day to count as a Buy Nothing Day I will not have:

  •  purchased food, entertainment or lifestyle items
  • paid for non-essential services e.g. music lessons

I can spend money on the following items:

  • household bills
  • necessary car maintenance
  • Fuel for the car
  • healthcare visits
  • debt payments

I’m not sure if this is really going to help my budget but I think it will help me be a more organized and thoughtful consumer.

6 thoughts on “Spending Freeze…Maybe Not

  1. Hi there! Thank you for following my blog! It’s only days old and I was so surprised anybody could find me. I like what you write about and these are the type of self imposed challenges and thinking outside the box that I constantly have in my head as well.

    Sometimes my laziness is a blessing. I also live 5 minutes away from a grocery store but the walk would still deter me from popping out to purchase something. However, I found when I was working and picked up groceries on the way home from work, I would easily overspend my grocery budget instead of purchasing bulk groceries in one go.

    When you try and save money by Buy Nothing Days, do you find that you compensate for it by spending more on spending days? For example, if you know you’re not going to go to any shops for the week, would you intentionally buy more snacks or stock up when you do shop?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love your blog and I’m so excited about your journey! Thanks so much for your kind words about mine.

      That’s a great question and to be honest I don’t know. I’ve only tried the spending freeze twice and I don’t think I did anything hugely different. My goal with Buy Nothing Days is to cut down on some of my senseless spending, those things that I want but can easily do without. For example ordering pizza when I’ve got all the ingredients and time for a decent dinner.

      Like

  2. I found not spending in a day was almost impossible for me – there is always something essential like transportation that messes it up. I found however shopping freeze for certain items for a period of time working for me. Like books, or clothes. just wanted to mention 🙂 good luck with your budget and efforts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

