Going Old Fashioned in the Kitchen: Pepper Sauce

I love highly seasoned food but anything that makes me reach for a glass of milk is not on my list of favourites. ML, however, likes heat and the culture I grew up in does as well. Last year I decided that I would learn to make pepper sauce but I haven’t put a lot of work into it.

Then the jerk pork happened. I had to purchase 1 scotch bonnet to add to the seasoning but the peppers came in flats of 10. With a surplus of peppers I decided that this was fate’s way of having me make pepper sauce.

I combed my cookbooks, scoured the internet and called my parents for ideas. Since I didn’t want to purchase any additional ingredients in case this didn’t work out I created my own recipe.

Here’s what I had on hand

  • 8 red/orange scotch bonnet peppers, seeded
  • lemon juice (1/2 cup)
  • white vinegar (1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp granulated garlic

I put all my ingredients in my blender and pulsed them until I got the sauce. I think it looks quite great!

pepper sacue

I made 1.5 cups of pepper sauce for ~$4. A quick search revealed that  1/2 cup of a similar sauce sells for $7 on Amazon. I’m feeling really good about this price! I gave my parents a container and have kept the rest for us to serve at our home. My dad called the next day to say that it was great and caution that a little goes a long way.

Is this up your alley?

Though I photographed this in plastic if you choose to make this please store your sauce in a glass bottle.

One thought on “Going Old Fashioned in the Kitchen: Pepper Sauce

  1. Pingback: Salsa – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

