Fast 15

timer.jpg

A few years ago my home was too cluttered for my liking. I had branded myself a messy soul since even as a child I couldn’t seem to keep a surface clear. I was in a state of constant mess and hated it. Once I had my home organized it became clear that the root cause of the mess was plain old laziness. After yet another Saturday afternoon spent organizing, clearing and sorting I instituted Fast Fifteen. Here’s how it works: I set a timer for 15 minutes and clean whatever I can in that time period.

That’s it. It turns out the secret to being prepared for unexpected guests was 15 minutes. Clearly deep cleaning is not happening on weekdays but in that 15 minutes I’m able to do dishes, wipe messes or pack away laundry.

Recently I came across this interview with Neen James where she speaks of how manageable our lives can be when we break them into 15 minute increments.

Would this advice work for you?

Photo courtesy of Carlos Porto via freedigitalphotos.net

3 thoughts on “Fast 15

  1. I like simple goals like this. They’re so attainable yet this still give me the same level of satisfaction of the bigger goals. For me, I try to get rid of at least one item a day from my house.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like you’re overwhelmed by your things. I wish I had a solution but I know everyone is different. I’ve been paring back over the course of the last few years which led to instituting the fast 15, so that I would keep the recently cleaned places tidy.

      Last year I KonMarie’d my home. It was tough and emotionally draining but I’ve been reaping the benefits ever since.

      Like

Leave a Reply

