Looking Ahead in January

December was such a success  since I spent less than anticipated that it’s hard to imagine that January would be difficult.This past weekend was a wake up call. Two opportunities arose to go out and I said yes without consulting my budget because it’s the beginning of the month and I hadn’t allocated my spending as yet.

Knowing that forgetting events has gotten me in trouble in the past I sat down with my calendar and planned my weeks out. The verdict: not much wiggle room.

I’ve got a miscellaneous line so I’ve divided that amount over the weeks in January so each week I can enjoy a bit of a splurge if I’d like. Knowing that I have roughly $10 a week of extra room already makes me feel great.

Photo courtesy of Arztsamui of FreeDigitialphotos.net

Leave a Reply

