New Year’s Resolutions

I love the new year preparations! There is something wonderful about taking a moment to reflect on the year that’s gone by and making a conscious decision to be a better version of me going forward.

I used to make resolutions the same way I make my To do list at work:

  • Exercise more
  • Eat well
  • Learn patience
  • Don’t blow the budget

The problem became that I would start out doing well but then a few months, even weeks, into the new year these items would be lost.

My next step was to take it month by month, for example, I’d spend January whipping my finances back into shape and giving myself structure, February I’d make a point of exercising everyday followed by incorporating more veggies in March. I wouldn’t plan out my year in advance but would promise myself to focus on something that made me better. This worked really well especially as it helped me build some momentum and kept my good habits top of mind.

This year, with the creation of this blog, I brought a lot of those pieces together. I spent a lot of time figuring out what mattered to me . When thinking of resolutions I revisited this list and my ways of tracking my success. It turns out I don’t have traditional resolutions this year, I’m just going to keep building on the success of 2015. I’ll be posting on how I plan to do this during the last 2 weeks of December.

What’s on your agenda for 2016?

 

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

