Stuff and Sharing

I struggle because I want to donate funds and time to groups but when it comes to my funds I don’t feel like I truly know where they’re going and it turns out that I’m rather stingy with my time. When I get home I want to relax not jump into another job with deliverables and timelines.

I love the Christmas season because it’s so easy to donate. There are opportunities in stores, malls and at work to donate in some form or fashion. Then I saw this idea for a reverse Advent calendar. The culture I grew up in didn’t have advent calendars rather we were encouraged to do good deeds to honour the Christ child. The reverse calendar is very similar to this idea and I love it.

It’s a stark reminder that even when I’m struggling to balance my finances that my problems are definitely problems of privilege. When I say no to myself I’m usually saying no to excess. My basic needs (food, shelter and clothing) have always been met and often met is putting it mildly. I can purchase an array of groceries and eat out, I live in a house in the suburbs and I have quite an assortment of clothing for each aspect of my life.

In 2016 I want to make more efforts to give back to my community to keep the spirit of giving and gratitude alive year round.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stuff and Sharing

  1. I have never heard of this before but it makes so much sense. What is a $1-$2 food can or nonperishable item a day when it comes to our budgets. Generally not enough to really make us take notice. But that little bit can mean a lot to an individual or family having a hard time of things. It’s something that I am going to be doing starting in the new year but I will be carrying it out all year long.

    For those of us who are a little superstitious, this single act of kindness can amount to a lot of good karma. That can go a long way to making things better for ourselves as well.

    -Brantley

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Revisiting My Lists – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

