Debriefing November

november

TRACKING

  •  # Buy nothing days : 9 days (It’s been a month of shopping!)
  • # times used S’mores Maker (aiming for 15 uses in 2015): 7+0, I suspect that I’m not going to hit 15 uses by the end of this year.
  • # times ate out: 8
  • # activities with loved ones: 14
  • # months until home improvement fund: 26 months
  • % over or under budget: Deep breath! 34% over budget
  • % consumer debt paid off: 6% (Yay!). I never did do a debrief for October, I paid off 18% then. In 4 months of tracking I’ve paid 44% of my debt.

CELEBRATE:

  • I was able to use my vacation fund to take an impromptu trip and it was pretty close to the budget I set myself
  • Gift shopping is complete!
  • Successfully made  a good chunk of presents by starting in October
  • Paid less to my debt as gift shopping was way over budget but the key piece is that I was still able to contribute to my repayment.
  • I used my credit card and it didn’t go to my head…too much. I’m going to continue using it in December to assess if I can use it responsibly.

DIP INTO SAVINGS/CREDIT

  • I was able to use my savings to do car maintenance, take a weekend trip and purchase some gifts

KEEP IN MIND

  • This is an expensive season in my home, between presents, socializing and holiday parties I need to start saving earlier.
  • Don’t let the idea of overspending being alright go to my head! It’s not an excuse to buy whatever I want.
  • Next year I need to triple my gift/seasonal budget so I should start Christmas saving in the summer.
  • I used a lot of banked overtime in November in the form of long weekends. This is the only reason I was able to get the gift shopping done.

OVERALL

Yes I’ve gone over budget but for the first time in a long time it doesn’t make me feel awful because I can see a good reason and I’ve got a plan. I created the December budget and have come up with a plan so that there isn’t any overspending. Now to stick to it!

Image courtesy of arztsamui at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

4 thoughts on “Debriefing November

  1. Brantley French

    I love how you were able to find things to celebrate about and that you have a spot for keeping your mind right. I think that is one of the key reasons that people get discouraged when they compare their results to their budget. They look at the number of $$$ they spent and not what they accomplished as far as saving or putting toward paying debt.
    I may be stealing this for my monthly budget wrap ups. 😎
    -Brantley

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

