Credit card Goals

I read a great post recently on How to Stuff Your Pig and it took me a bit to let the message sink in. I had stopped using my credit card because I found I was likely to say to myself, “it’s only a little more.” Those little more purchases added up! When using my debit card a little more is the difference between being able to pay or not.I’ve missed using my card as it’s a points card and last year I was able to purchase most Christmas gifts and all my hosting needs with those points. However the mess I’d gotten myself in made me wary of using the card again

With the advice ringing in my ears I decided to use my credit card last week. It worked in the sense that I was able to “spend” from my savings accounts without a visit to the bank. The problems were:

  • I found myself a bit less diligent as I knew I would be able to cover the cost of my purchases
  • transactions aren’t recorded immediately.

The transaction recording has improved greatly since my card and I took a break. Now the company shows pending charges which allows me to track my spending much better than before. The hiccup occurred when I went to check my spending and was recorded as blowing the budget by $200.

A quick call confirmed there were holds on the account due to some gas station stops. Since I can’t find those receipts I have to wait a few days to see what the damage is.

I’m going to continue using my card this month and see if my spending mindset has improved. My only way to help myself is to also continue my weekly budget so I know how much I should be spending per week.

Do you have any tips to help keep me on the straight and narrow?

11 thoughts on “Credit card Goals

  1. Howto$tuffYourPig

    I think in time you will be able to change your mindset, but at the end of the day you need to do what works best for you of course. 🙂 Credit cards do accept holds from businesses, but the advantage is that it ties up your credit line vs your checking balance. I know many people who have bounced a payment or two thinking there was enough in their checking account for a payment to clear. I suggest you take a look and see if your credit card offers balance alerts. I asked to get one daily on mine and it does include pending transactions which can really help you keep track of your balance. Great post! I appreciate the link! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank! Both for the post and additional tips. This time around I’m more aware of my spending and I’ve been making progress. I’m starting to trust myself. I’ve been wanting to use the card because my rewards are great and then you listed some other great reasons 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My tip – Don’t use them. LOL.. sorry, none of those “benefits” are really benefits to me. I’m doing everything I can to get rid of my credit card balances. I’m sick of paying interest. It’s just way too easy for me to spend more than I can pay back every month so it’s best for me to not use them. Ever.

    Like

  3. I started using the You Need a Budget (YNAB) software about 2.5 years ago, and it has revolutionized the way I track purchases and keep a budget. It’s worth checking out, and they do have a free 34 day trial. And not only is their software fantastic, but their whole approach to money has also been very influential in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s fantastic! I just read through their method and I already love the fact that we share the same philosophy. I love Rule #3!
      It looks like they set up their budget in a very similar way to mine so I’ll definitely try the free trial in January.

      Like

      1. I accidentally deleted your comment when I came to say that I’ve downloaded YNAB. It’s fantastic software! It was also a great confidence booster as all the differences are due to individual quirks.
        For anyone feeling intimidated by the idea of budgeting this is a great tool!

        Like

      2. I’m glad you like it? Have you read some of their help articles or taken any of their free classes? I found these super valuable…not only to understand the software, but to also understand their philosophies behind the software. Once I started to get these principles then things really started to click with me and budgeting got easier and easier. If you’re going to buy the software I do have a $6 coupon you can use if you want (I also get a $6 commission out of it). Just let me know.

        Like

  4. I’m so glad this worked for you! I won’t be purchasing it as my current system works well for me and is very similar to YNAB.
    The entire experience was great because it reinforced my own principles and behavior.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

