No Countdowns so far but There’s Still Counting

Fall has not been wonderful to me. I’ve been quite sick twice since the weather has turned so I’ve ignored my budget for this month. When sick I tend to hunker down and not spend on a lot.

I do know that we had a few unexpected bumps but I strongly suspect that it will all come out in the wash.

In the meantime I got to count my blessings.

I’ve spent the last week in bed being thankful for cups of hot tea, affordable over the counter medications, the great staff at the clinic when the OTC stuff was no longer working and my health benefits that covered the prescribed  drugs.

Yesterday was my first day back to work. I’m so grateful that I get sick days and work in an environment that I can take them. I’m lucky in that I get to do something I love that challenges me but on days when I’m operating at less than 100% I can still feel competent.

I’m so thankful for my family. ML has been a saint as we switch up gender roles in our house and I suffer from a “man cold.” Our families were wonderful sending us some meals to help us through the day and still having us over even when I confessed to feeling like garbage.

You know the downside to being ill and miserable but when I stopped focusing on those pieces it turns out I have loads to be happy about.

What about you? What’s making you happy today?

One thought on “No Countdowns so far but There’s Still Counting

  1. I agree with you. Appreciating the world we live in with all its opportunities offers a healthier and happier way of focusing our lives than wallowing in self pity during the temporary illnesses or other down turns we face in life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

