A Trini Secret!

I’ve been having a conversation with a friendly budget warrior about the spices that I use to enhance meals. One of the seasonings I use is green seasoning. This is a make do recipe so that it can suit your tastes as well as the grocery selection.

The easiest recipe I’ve found that also has some great photos is on Cooking with Ria. She also explains how it’s used really well.

Her recipe differs a bit from mine in that I do:

  • 1 onion
  • 1 garlic
  • a bunch of chive (green onion)
  • 1 sweet pepper
  • bunches of any green seasoning that I like (curly parsley, cilantro, etc.)
  • White vinegar, instead of water

Peel, chop, seed ingredients as necessary. Place all ingredients in a blender and add a bit of vinegar to help with the blending. I store this in glass bottles, often coffee jars, in the fridge and it keeps for a rather long time.

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

