C is for Cookie

I’ve been trying to eat a bit healthier as I’ve noticed a few pounds creeping in. Of course this means that I want cookies. My attitude towards dieting is the same as my budgeting: don’t tighten too much.

As I’ve been thinking of cookies since Monday I decided today was the day to make them. Small problem: I don’t have all the ingredients and my grocery budget for the week is done. Also this decision may have happened at 5:30 this morning.

This meant that I needed to get creative so down to the pantry I went. There I found boxes of cake mix. A quick Google search took me to a cake mix cookie recipe. As you can see there are no health benefits to these cookies.

I made no changes to the recipe – 1 box of cake mix, 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of oil. Next time I’ll use 1/3 cup of oil.

I used a Betty Crocker French Vanilla cake mix and put sprinkles on the tops before putting them in the oven.

IMG_20150910_071448It was a success! Well near success. My oven runs hot and I was a bit tired so I burnt the bottoms of the first batch. To save them I used a grater to remove the scorched bits. So I’ve got  a dozen crunchy coffee cookies and 2 dozen soft cookies for desserts.

I’ve got quite a few cake mixes that will expire in the next few months. Do you have any non-cake cake mix recipes that you love?

One thought on “C is for Cookie

  1. Pingback: Shopping my pantry – Saving Without Scrimping

Leave a Reply

