I want a vacation

photo

Technically I’ve taken my summer vacation. It was an absolutely packed 2 weeks in which I toured a family friend around my part of the world. It was wonderful but not particularly restful. My weekends have been filled with an equal mix of fun and errands but once again not very restful.

In bed the other day I found myself thinking, “I need a vacation.”

Of course the part that is focused on my budget was appalled. A vacation! What did I think I was doing while spending 2 weeks away from my desk in July? It turns out I don’t need a vacation from work, I need a vacation from adulthood. I’d like to spend a weekend with no responsibilities, not even fun ones.

If I stay at home I know I’ll end up doing errands or finding some project to immerse myself in. I can’t just relax at home. It’s a problem.

I’m now on a quest to check myself into a cheap but nice place where there’s precious little to do so that I can have a mini vacation on a budget. I’ll let you know if this works.

Image courtesy of winnond at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

