Another book to Change Your Life

Have you guessed that I love reading? In clearing out my shelves I found The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister.

school of Essential IngredientsThis book is lovely because I’ve been racing through the last few weeks. I’ve been so focused on the destination that I’m exhausted. I’m not enjoying the journey at all. Rather than admiring the fact that I’ve cleared out 9 bags of clothing, 4 boxes of books and began cooking again I’ve been looking ahead to all the things I haven’t done.

This book was a breath of fresh air that I needed. I won’t give anything away but the writing focuses on the beauty of the moments. It’s also quite focused on cooking, not a favourite pastime of mine but one I enjoyed more after reading this again. If you’re in the mood to read about food told in great detail then this book is for you. Me? In the craziness that’s been my world this past month I needed a book to remind me to stop and smell the roses instead of my to do list.

Today I looked for beauty in everything, focused on the moments and celebrated task completion. It’s been my best day in a while and I’m hoping to keep the momentum going.

Do you have books that revitalize you?

2 thoughts on “Another book to Change Your Life

  1. The book was called, The Team That Couldn’t Lose.” I read it under my blanket in bed using a flashlight purchased at the circus when I was about 7 years old. As a child, I lived to play sports. I did not enjoy reading. My parents tried bribing me with staying up later at night if I read. It didn’t work. This book, however, I couldn’t put down. There was an emotional attachment. It left a lasting impression.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

