Just a little something that brightened my day: Liebster Award

I had a fantastic start to my day when I got a notice that Rachel from Lady and the Budget had nominated this blog. My posts are pieces of myself that I share with you so to have someone nominate me is very exciting. I really thought, “Did you mean me? Really? You’re awesome too!”

Here’s a bit of information on this award:

The Liebster Award is a small blogger award that gets passed around to recognize smallish or newish blogs that deserve to be recognized.  For newish bloggers like us, it’s the dawn of a new day.  The journey is just beginning and there’s a whole new world to be explored, ideas to be challenged, and change to be had.  Join us on our journeys!

The rules are:

1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
2. Answer the questions given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers with fewer than 200 followers.
4. Create 11 questions for the nominees.
5. Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

Here are the answers to the questions given to me:

  1.  What blogs/websites do you visit on a daily basis?
    1. I’m always visiting How to $tuff Your Pig, Accepting Ashley, The Seeds 4 Life. I find myself also visiting inc and Forbes almost daily through newsletters I subscribe to.
  2. You are given one million dollars (you’re welcome!), you have 24 hours to spend it, anything left over after 24 hours had to be returned – what would you spend it on?
    1. Woohoo! Thanks for the funds. I’ll cut a cheque for the mortgage, book a European vacation, and shoes. I’ll buy as many pairs as I can lay my hands on in 24 hours. Beautiful, colourful heels. Also my favourite cheesecakes followed by a couple fantastic meals.
  3. What do you think is the best use of your money?
    1. For me it’s about making memories and making my world more joyful. It can be as generous as a great gift for someone or as simple as picking up some amazing tea to try.
  4. If you were ruler of your own country what would be the first law you would introduce?
    1. Isn’t sad that my first thought was, “Can you legalize kindness?” How about no battles? You can disagree with someone, who can argue with them but you can’t be nasty or passive-aggressive. I think the world will be a nicer place if we were honest but respectful, if that was the way we were trained to be.
  5. What is one thing you will never do again?
    1. Never is such a strong word…I want to never underestimate my strength and intelligence again, to never put my trust in the wrong people, and never disappoint those who love me.
  6. What did you want to be when you grew up?
    1. A ballerina, school principal who taught and baked, an author…all at the same time. I’m none of those things and yet, I dance when the mood takes, create educational manuals for colleagues, bake for my loved ones,  and write in this blog and as part of committees.
  7. What job would you refuse to do – even it if paid your ideal salary?
    1. I don’t know. You can’t pay me enough for a role that makes me sacrifice my personal life for my work or one that doesn’t involve people.
  8.  What one piece of advice has served your life well?
    1. In high school there was a girl that would scrawl Live, Love, Laugh on everything. It’s in popular culture now but to me it’s her slogan. I adopted it as reminder to enjoy moments, to love deeply and to laugh at myself and with friends.
  9. If you could time-travel, what time period would you visit? Why?
    1.  I would take a trip to the Roaring Twenties. Learn to dance, wear those gorgeous flapper dresses (though I prefer the 1930s fitted style), go to jazz clubs and wear beautiful sparkling bracelets, headbands and necklaces. It would be great for a visit but I love our present: equality has come a long way as has medication and appliances.
  10. Describe an ideal day.
    1. This changes depending on the season and my mood. This summer an ideal day has begun with sleeping in and awaking to a cloudy sky. The clouds lead me to breakfasting with my pet bunny followed by some quality time on the couch and delving into Tree Hill (it`s been years and I still love Naley). Of course it clears up so I can read outside and have friends over for pizza and wine with a possibility of boardgames.
  11. If you were on a desert island, what three objects would you bring with you?
    1. I`m going to pretend we live in a magical world so I`ll bring a book that always has new stories to read (maybe that`s the internet), my favourite blanket and a fantastic dress for when I get saved.

I nominate:

Inspired she Lives: Anna Marie, I don`t travel a lot because the to do list leaves me exhausted but seeing your posts makes me want to pack a suitcase and follow the fresh air. It`s not just traveling, it`s your attitude. Your writing is often a reminder to engage with and enjoy life.

Accepting Ashley: Ashley, we began blogging around the same time. Our lives are so different but our goals are very similar. Every time you post I`m rooting for you.

Avoiding the Abyss: I discovered you and found someone who is grappling with the same things. I love reading about people`s success stories but I also love sharing with someone who is living the debt stuff now.

Red Lipstick, Black Budget: Ramona, I love your sassy style! We track our spending in similar ways and it`s so lovely to feel like we`re all in this together.

Alright lovelies, now for the questions:

  1. What`s been the most surprising thing you discovered since you started blogging?
  2. If someone was to write a book about you what would the first and last sentences be?
  3. The book was a hit! They’re making it into a movie – what type of movie will it be (drama, romcom, action, etc.) and who would you want to play you?
  4. If you could choose an age to be right now what would it be? Why?
  5. What’s your favourite thing to do in a day?
  6. Why did you choose your blog name?
  7. What’s on your bucket list?
  8. If you were to create a slogan for your life what would it be?
  9. What’s your theme song for the moment?
  10. If you had to be trapped in a TV show for a month which show would it be?
  11. What is an experience that changed your life for the better?

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Just a little something that brightened my day: Liebster Award

  1. Howto$tuffYourPig

    Congrats on your nomination! I really enjoyed reading your answers. Love the your response to the question on what you would do with a million dollars! You would “pay off your mortgage” then go on a trip! Love it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

