Chicken Broth

Every so often I roast a chicken. It’s one of those easy tasks that makes me feel incredibly adult. Every time I do this I, not surprisingly, have drippings which I end up tossing.  I had no idea how wasteful I was being until I saw a recipe that needed chicken broth. With the chicken still in the tray I thought maybe I could use the drippings to make it.

It turns out I’ve been being wasteful! You can use the drippings to make broth, stock or gravy, as the base for a bunch of recipes and the fat can be used for frying. As I only did the broth I’ll share the super simple recipe that gave me this:

stock

Ingredients:

  • Drippings
  • Water

Method:

  • Scrape all the drippings into a pot
  • Add water, the amount depends on how much drippings you have and how concentrated you want the flavour to be. I did 4 cups which was a bit much for my ~1 cup of drippings.
  • Stir in a pot on low heat for ~10 minutes just to get a bit of a boil going
  • Remove from heat and use however you’d like.

I used almost all of it immediately for another recipe so I have no clue how long this will last in your fridge or freezer.

What do you do with your chicken drippings?

Leave a Reply

