I am Open to Savings

I grew up in a very religious household that strongly encouraged doing good, counting your blessings, looking for the beauty in each day and being careful what you fill your mind and time with. Though I’ve moved away from the tenets of the faith those lessons have stuck.

Starting this blog was a way of recognizing that my previous attempts at money management weren’t working and to improve. Two days after starting a strange thing started happening. Clerks began pointing me to better deals.

Being a vain sort I immediately did a check of myself. Did I look like I desperately needed tips? Was there something about me that elicited pity? Nope. I looked the same but there is now an openness in me. I recognize that I don’t have all the answers and I am truly willing to listen to others.

This made me think of my childhood, in which my family would declare, “You’ve got to be careful about what you put out there because it’s going to come back to you.”

It’s true isn’t it? People are willing to help you spend money but save it as well. Here’s to putting frugal thoughts into the universe and helping each other achieve our goals!

Do you have any stories like this?

Leave a Reply

