My bread dilemna

I love bread! I love the smell of it fresh baked. I adore the softness of the warm bread and the crispness of a perfect crust.

When I have bread in the house I’m more likely to buy deli meats and eat an entire brick of cheese in a week. So bread can be an expensive habit for me. I played with the idea of making my own as I figured I’d eat less if I knew how much work goes into it.

Tiny problem: every time I’ve tried I’ve either muddled it completely or been too impatient. So I’ve learnt to make biscuits. My favourite is Baking Powder Biscuits. I know you can find a host of similar recipes, or even the same, on the web but here’s the one that I’ve been using.

biscuits

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • .5 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp.  cold butter
  • ~1 Cup milk

Method

  • Mix the dry ingredients together
  • Cut in the butter to create a coarse mixture that looks like breadcrumbs
  • Add in the milk ( a little at a time) to form a soft dough
  • Toss onto a floured surface and knead lightly – you want it well mixed but don’t over do it
  • Roll out and use a cookie cutter, or glass, to cut
  • Place on a cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 12-15 minutes
Leave a Reply

